[sword-devel] Piracy ........

DM Smith dmsmith555 at yahoo.com
Wed Mar 19 10:08:38 MST 2008

This looks just like the old thinkall scam. They have two Bible 
packages, biblecs and bibledesktop. Neither give any indication that's 
what they are. The biblecs page gives as a review a quote from a review 
of GnomeSword.

I think we are in for a bumpy ride.

Daniel Glassey wrote:
> On 19/03/2008, Barry Drake <bdrake at crosswire.org> wrote:
>> Hi there .......
>>  I've just responded to a Sword Support message about an outfit called CD
>>  Earth wanting to charge $15 for Sword Software.  The site referred to is
>>  at: http://www.cdearth.com/bible-software.htm
> Hmm, indeed looks dodgy. Just remember we can't complain about them
> charging money for it as long as they are distributiing it under the
> terms of the GPL with sources. We can ask nicely for attribution and
> stuff though but not demand it.
> However, I can't tell if they have made any effort to make sure that
> they aren't selling modules that are 'distribute from crosswire only'.
> That would be a bigger problem.
>>  Do we have a standard e-mail to send out to folk like this?  The contact
>>  e-mail is given as: info at cdearth.com
> No idea, hopefully Chris or someone else will pop up :) (and I'm sure
> someone will disagree with me about people selling GPLd software but
> the GPL does allow you to do that).
> Regards,
> Daniel
> _______________________________________________
> sword-devel mailing list: sword-devel at crosswire.org
> http://www.crosswire.org/mailman/listinfo/sword-devel
> Instructions to unsubscribe/change your settings at above page

More information about the sword-devel mailing list