[sword-devel] Piracy

Barry Drake bdrake at crosswire.org
Thu Mar 20 04:56:26 MST 2008

Hi there ........

-------- Original Message --------

Hi Sharon ...........

k ... at ... wrote:
> *Keep me updated PLEASE!*
I wonder if you could give a bit more help.  Sorry to put you to this
trouble.  Could you look on the CD which you have, and see if there is a
directory (folder) called 'source'.  If there is, could you let us know
what files it contains please.  Also, the other requirements for
legality is that they have to make it obvious that the software is
licensed under GPL and include any modifications they have made to the
code (i.e. re-branding).   Is there any obvious indication that they
have complied with this?

If the answer to both of these is 'yes', then they can charge for the
software apparently.  But the user is aware from the above information
that the software is a) open source, and b) can be obtained free of charge.

As the scheme is a descendent of the old scam that received an
injunction, you might want to contact
http://www.ftc.gov/ftc/complaint.htm with all the details.

I trust that you have stopped any payments to this firm from your credit
card - even if that means cancelling that particular card!!

God bless,

-- From Barry Drake (The Revd) minister of the Netherfield United 
Reformed church, Nottingham see http://www.jesusinnetherfield.org.uk for 
our church homepages).

Replies - b.drake at ntlworld.com

More information about the sword-devel mailing list