mvnForum Homepage Welcome Guest  | Guest Setting  |  Register  |   Login
  Search  
Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Online  | User List  | Help


»

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 11
Posts: 11   Pages: 2   [ 1 2 | Next Page ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 5556 times and has 10 replies Next Thread
Male rustianimal
Newbie



UK
Joined: Nov 15, 2010
Post Count: 6
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Auto-Index?

I have been a MacSword user for a few years now and recently upgraded to version 2. I use a considerable number of the Sword modules with it, so have found the Module Installer extremely useful.

However, having downloaded so many modules, I cannot use them to search without individually creating an index for each one as I use them. There is no means to check if an index has been created until you require a search, then you have to wait several minutes while it creates the index, before you get the results.

It would be very helpful to have an auto-index or index-creation (batch mode) function that once a module has been downloaded, it can be fully indexed before a search is required. I would rather leave my Mac overnight creating indexes overnight than have to do each one individually one by one.

Ta smile
[Nov 15, 2010 12:41:35 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male mdbergmann
Inventory
Member's Avatar

Germany
Joined: Jun 12, 2008
Post Count: 640
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Auto-Index?

Hi.

Actually we had such a feature but removed it in 2.2 (?) because people were confused and worried about high CPU usage and such things.
I found it useful as well.
Maybe I'll add it again.


Manfred
[Nov 15, 2010 10:29:13 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male mdbergmann
Inventory
Member's Avatar

Germany
Joined: Jun 12, 2008
Post Count: 640
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Auto-Index?

Hi.

Version 2.2.11 re-integrates this feature.

You can enable it with this command line:

defaults write org.crosswire.MacSword DefaultsBackgroundIndexerEnabled yes



Manfred
[Nov 25, 2010 12:57:35 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male Nephish777
Newbie
Member's Avatar

USA
Joined: Apr 29, 2011
Post Count: 6
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Auto-Index?

I could not figure out how to use he above command line in Snow Leopard 10.6. I installed Eloquent over MacSword and just let the installer put it where it wanted.

I looked the Eloquest library files and could not find the line org.crosswire.MacSword DefaultsBackgroundIndexerEnabled.
----------------------------------------
Nephish777 Akron Ohio USA Mac OS 10.6 user
[Apr 29, 2011 6:22:24 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male JonGl
Regular




Joined: Oct 14, 2009
Post Count: 55
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Auto-Index?

I could not figure out how to use he above command line in Snow Leopard 10.6. I installed Eloquent over MacSword and just let the installer put it where it wanted.


You need to use the Terminal.app to use the command line. It's not too hard.

First, look for a folder named "utilities" inside your Mac's Application folder. Inside that folder is an application, named Terminal. Launch that.

Now, copy the command from here:
defaults write org.crosswire.MacSword DefaultsBackgroundIndexerEnabled yes


and paste that command into the window in the Terminal app. After you paste, you probably will have to hit return to execute the command.

You can test to see if it "took" by pasting the following command:
defaults read org.crosswire.MacSword DefaultsBackgroundIndexerEnabled


If, after hitting Return, you see "yes", it took. If you see a zero or "no" then it didn't. Try again, but if you do it correctly, it should work.

A couple hints. The command line typically shows some text that identifies your computer, and shows the name of your computer, and your short username, and then ends with the dollar sign. Here's what mine looks like:

Jons-MBP:~ jonglass$

When you execute a command, the line you typed in should clear, and you should see a clean line like what I showed above, ending in the dollar sign. When you use the "defaults read..." command, above that command line, you will see a word or a number. You should see that word "yes" and you'll be good to go.

Once done, quit and relaunch Eloquent (if it wasn't quit before--and, in fact, it's better to quit Eloquent before doing this.

And you should have your background indexing working. Just for the record, and I don't think it's a problem today, but when 2.0 came out, the background indexing took a lot of computer processor time to work, and could slow your computer down. I think, though, that Manfred fixed that. Ironically, while writing this post, I discovered that I had auto-indexing off (I believe I turned it off ages ago), so I turned it back on myself. ;-)

Well, I hope this helps.

-Jon
[Apr 30, 2011 12:41:06 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male Nephish777
Newbie
Member's Avatar

USA
Joined: Apr 29, 2011
Post Count: 6
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Auto-Index?

Thanks
----------------------------------------
Nephish777 Akron Ohio USA Mac OS 10.6 user
[Apr 30, 2011 12:22:19 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male mdbergmann
Inventory
Member's Avatar

Germany
Joined: Jun 12, 2008
Post Count: 640
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Auto-Index?

With Eloquent this like reads:

defaults write org.crosswire.Eloquent DefaultsBackgroundIndexerEnabled yes

[May 1, 2011 6:12:40 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male rustianimal
Newbie



UK
Joined: Nov 15, 2010
Post Count: 6
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Auto-Index?

Actually, my original query was not regarding 'background' indexing but 'batch' indexing.

Background indexing ticks away whilst I am reading the text or whatever using 'spare' CPU for the task. As has been mentioned already, background indexing does use up CPU whilst it is not doing anything else, which some people appear to be concerned about.

Batch indexing occurs only once and does not run in background at all. It is an explicit option to tell MacSword to index ALL the selected modules NOW. It uses maximum CPU to achieve the task in the shortest possible time to the exclusion of all else. It does not need to do it again or be active as a background process because once a module is indexed it does not need to be indexed again.

The most annoying thing to me when using MacSword/Eloquent was that having downloaded over 50 modules of various sorts using the 'batch' download function of the Module Manager, when I came to search using any of them the search failed because there was no index! A module without a searchable index is pretty much useless as all the great stuff in the program can't be used without the index.

I just downloaded the new Eloquent program (v2.3), opened it up and it has deleted ALL of my sources. I now have to download them ALL again and I presume (seeing as there still is no Batch method for creating the indexes) I will have to manually index every single module too. I estimate based on my previous experience that it will take me around 2 days of work to do this!!!!!!!!!!

Please alter the new version of Eloquent with a BATCH indexing command. I just want to be able to tell it to index ALL my modules in one go and leave the computer overnight or even all weekend if necessary until it is done!
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by rustianimal at May 3, 2011 11:30:54 PM]
[May 3, 2011 11:26:16 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male mdbergmann
Inventory
Member's Avatar

Germany
Joined: Jun 12, 2008
Post Count: 640
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Auto-Index?

Please read on our web page how to take over your data from MacSword to Eloquent:
http://www.eloquent-bible-study.eu/
You just need to rename two files.

I don't see much of a difference regarding indexing. The background indexer is doing indexing as a batch process. It does it in the background but that should actually only be an advantage because you can use Eloquent for reading the bible or do other study in the meantime.
At it does it as soon as it detects a unindexed module which is almost as NOW.


Manfred
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by mdbergmann at May 4, 2011 2:06:08 PM]
[May 4, 2011 2:05:20 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male rustianimal
Newbie



UK
Joined: Nov 15, 2010
Post Count: 6
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Auto-Index?

There is a very significant difference. A batch process as I have mentioned should run as a foreground function and max out the CPU, RAM & disk to the detriment of all else in order to get the task done. This is because without the index there, no other useful work can be done.

In earlier versions you have the option to do a foreground index on a module by module basis, and you cannot do anything else whilst that foreground indexing is processing. I am saying I would like to be able to tell Eloquent to index not just the module I am trying to search on now, but every module that has not been indexed and do it NOW as I cannot use Eloquent any further until all the indexes are created.

Maybe it is as simple as creating a preference panel that allows you to say 'Index all modules as soon as downloaded', so that once a new module is added, it is indexed immediately.

Also, there should not be any need to use command line at all in a Mac application. So, even though you mention using command line options, it would be better to just include an extra menu item to do the specific housekeeping tasks for those who are not familiar with command line functions.

As regards the move from MacSword to Eloquent, unfortunately Eloquent has already deleted all my modules from my hard drive entirely. I have had to download all the modules again from scratch. I still have to index them or at least go into the command line and turn on background indexing for Eloquent if it is not already on as standard.
[May 5, 2011 2:27:13 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Posts: 11   Pages: 2   [ 1 2 | Next Page ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread