mvnForum Homepage Welcome Guest  | Guest Setting  |  Register  |   Login
  Search  
Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Online  | User List  | Help

»

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 4
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 2050 times and has 3 replies Next Thread
Male mikodo
Stranger

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
BibleTime using a lot of CPU processing power

Hello everyone,

I am new to using BibleTime, and this is my first post on the Crosswire forums. With that I am not sure if I am posting in the correct area of the forums, but I do use BibleTime with my desktop, so I will post here.

I use Ubuntu 9.10- 32 bit, on a Quad Core 2.4mhz, Intel machine with integrated graphics using 4 gig of RAM. I notice that BibleTime uses a lot of CPU processor power. One of my CPU's is always using 100% of its' capabilities and the others remain under 5%. This is a lot when other applications usually use a combined CPU usage of less than 5%. A good example of this is the application Xiphos Bible Guide, I can read Bible text, and have an auditory synthesizer speak the text all for less than 5% CPU usage. I don't use many of the features in Bibletime, all that I really want, is to read bible text.

My question is this: Are there processes/features that I can turn off to reduce the CPU load on my machine?

Thank you.

Mike
----------------------------------------
[Edit 4 times, last edit by mikodo at Apr 10, 2010 4:23:40 AM]
[Apr 10, 2010 3:14:07 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male alvanx
Regular

Re: BibleTime using a lot of CPU processing power

The best way to receive answers from the developers is probably through the support tracker on sourceforge: https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?group_id=954&atid=200954