mvnForum Homepage Welcome Guest  | Guest Setting  |  Register  |   Login
  Search  
Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Online  | User List  | Help


»

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 4
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 3902 times and has 3 replies Next Thread
Male Nocturnmidnight
Stranger




Joined: Sep 6, 2009
Post Count: 2
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Services/ Contextual Menu Items for MacSword 2 in Snow Leopard

Great work on the new Beta folks. It's looking awesome!!!

Has any one done anything with the new Services in Snow Leopard?
I was trying to find something to replace a contextual menu plugin that no longer exists in Snow Leopard and figured out how to create my own via Automator/Services in SL.
This is what I came up with for MacSword.

http:///www.brannonb.com/Sword.zip

They should go in "/Users/"Your Home Folder"/Library/Services"
There is one for searching text and one for searching references eg. "Exodus 1:7"

I had one for MacSword 1.4.3 but I never got the one working right for references. The integrated search box in the new Beta version made is easy to make it work.
Now I can select text any where and have it be searched in MacSword! All from the contextual menu.

Note:
It is dependent on how you have your Default Session set up. You have to have an open module upon MacSword opening.
You also have to have MacSword in you Applications folder.

You can always edit the Service in Automator.
----------------------------------------
[Edit 2 times, last edit by Nocturnmidnight at Sep 6, 2009 9:30:50 PM]
[Sep 6, 2009 8:11:32 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male mdbergmann
Inventory
Member's Avatar

Germany
Joined: Jun 12, 2008
Post Count: 640
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Services/ Contextual Menu Items for MacSword 2 in Snow Leopard

Great.
Can you give me a small description on how I can set this up?
I have put the two Automater scripts in the Services folder but they don't appear in Services menu?
What do I need to do?


Regards,
Manfred
[Sep 7, 2009 11:45:09 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male Nocturnmidnight
Stranger




Joined: Sep 6, 2009
Post Count: 2
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Services/ Contextual Menu Items for MacSword 2 in Snow Leopard

This set only works with the new beta of MacSword on Snow Leopard.

This is what it looks like on my Mac. "You must have some text selected for it to show up."







You may want to try opening them with Automator. Make sure the second action points to your MacSword application.

This is what it looks like when I open the service in Automator.








If it still doesn't work, I may have been mistaken to think they would work across different machines.
If that is the case I'll post a video showing how I made them. I'm no programer, so I think anyone could do it.
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by Nocturnmidnight at Sep 8, 2009 8:00:55 AM]
[Sep 8, 2009 7:59:36 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male mdbergmann
Inventory
Member's Avatar

Germany
Joined: Jun 12, 2008
Post Count: 640
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Services/ Contextual Menu Items for MacSword 2 in Snow Leopard

Hi.

Hmm, I don't have this "Services" menu item in the context menu.
I guess I have to enable Services somewhere in the System Preferences or so.

Manfred
[Sep 9, 2009 1:06:31 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread