mvnForum Homepage Welcome Guest  | Guest Setting  |  Register  |   Login
  Search  
Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Online  | User List  | Help

»

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 16
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 6096 times and has 15 replies Next Thread
Male CiaW

USA
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Errors using 'make' on Sword engine

Hi all! I'm somewhat new to linux, and used to use (and loved) eSword on Windows. I have a laptop running Fedora 7 and I've installed or tried both gnomesword (I know it's now Xiphos) and BibleTime. I recently got a new desktop pc on which I've installed CentOS 5.3 and there are no Xiphos / BibleTime / gnone sword rpm packages available for them.

I'm not sure if it'd be safe to install, say a Fedora 10 rpm on my CentOS system (I could ask in their forum...); but I thought I'd try to just download and install the source packages. From a previous attempt I know that Xiphos requires version 1.5 or later of Sword; so I downloaded that first and also installed GCC and after an error discovered I also needed gcc-c++ which I've also installed. The ./configure command went just fine, then when I used the 'make' command it ran for a few moments and returned a message of
make: *** [all recursive] Error 1
for versions 1.6.0 with another message before that.

Since version 1.5.x would be acceptable I downloaded v1.5.11 then v1.5.10 after 11 failed, and on both of them I got the same error message as follows:
./lib/.libs/libsword.so: undefined reference to 'compress' (next line same reference to) 'gzdopen', 'gzerror', 'gzread', 'uncompress'
Then:
 collect2: ld returned 1 exit status 

make[1]: *** [buildtest] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/share/sword-1.5.10'
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1