mvnForum Homepage Welcome Guest  | Guest Setting  |  Register  |   Login
  Search  
Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Online  | User List  | Help

»

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 6
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 7665 times and has 5 replies Next Thread
Male etienne

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Morphological Information in Greek NT

I am a student of Theology, able to read Greek and Hebrew, and I have been using GnomeSword, v2.2.3, on my Ubuntu machine for just a short while now. I am really excited about the prospects of the Sword Project, but there are some problems which bother me...

I use the Westcott-Hort (with NA27/UBS4 variants) Greek NT (without accents!) because of how up to date and accurate it is, yet when I set the module options to show morphological tags, it just shows a *S next to each word.
I would really like to be able to look up the morphology, but I cannot. There are various websites, such as Crosswire's own Bible Tool, or Resurgence (www.zhubert.com) which can do this, but I do not constantly want to look something up on a website.

1. Surely there is a way to display these tags in the preview pane, as one can view the Strongs Numbers? And is it possible to write a script that would translate something like "N-ASF" to "Noun, Accusative, Singular, Female" ? (Just like in the BibleTool, http://www.crosswire.org/study )

2. Secondly, there are versions of the Westcott-Hort (again with variants) available on the internet WITH ACCENTS. I have not yet been able to find one that I can download as a single file (see http://www.ccel.org/w/westcott/gnt/title.htm ), but would it be possible to incorporate the accents into the Sword Module?

I would be glad to help in any way I can. I am not a programmer, yet I am starting to learn Python in order to help the Open Source movement!

Etienne Snyman
----------------------------------------