mvnForum Homepage Welcome Guest  | Guest Setting  |  Register  |   Login
  Search  
Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Online  | User List  | Help


»

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 9
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 2322 times and has 8 replies Next Thread
Male Simon
Regular




Joined: Jan 29, 2009
Post Count: 26
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Making modules

Is it difficult to make new modules for MacSword?
I have no experience of writing computer programs, but I have tried the basics of html.
Would there be any use for me trying to create a new module?

Simon
[Jan 30, 2009 12:51:19 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male mdbergmann
Inventory
Member's Avatar

Germany
Joined: Jun 12, 2008
Post Count: 640
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Making modules

Hi Simon.

In out Wiki is some more information about creating modules.
http://www.crosswire.org/wiki/Main_Page


Regards,
Manfred
[Jan 30, 2009 1:20:38 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male gichurch
Regular
Member's Avatar


Joined: Apr 24, 2004
Post Count: 46
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Making modules

It depends what you want to do. Importing a badly encoded Bible text might be hard work. Creating an image/map module would be totally straight forward.

If you know HTML then you will understand many of our modules easily.

There have been a whole bunch of module ideas floating about which no one had time to implement

Peter
[Jan 31, 2009 4:22:08 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male Simon
Regular




Joined: Jan 29, 2009
Post Count: 26
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Making modules

I want to take a Bible text, which I have on my computer, and make a macsword module from it. I have started to use the OSIS Users Manual from Bible Technologies and progressing slowly.
I will write again if I get any trouble :-)

Simon
[Feb 5, 2009 10:37:11 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male Simon
Regular




Joined: Jan 29, 2009
Post Count: 26
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
confused I can't get the headings to work properly

confused
Hello again.
I hope someone has the patience to help me.

I have started to try to code a new module, using the OSIS language and the editor jEdit.
The Bible text I am using has lots of headers (non-canonical) in the text. I want to use those headers in the module, so I checked the OSIS instructions on the wiki, and the OSIS manual from Bible Technologies.
I have tried using the <title></title> tag, but the headings doesn't show in MacSword, even after I have used "Show/hide headers" under the Format menu.
I have also tried giving the <title> tag various attributes, such as type="section", type="sub" and canonical="false". It didn't make the headers work either.
To make the matter more frustrating: once the headers did show up in MacSword, but I can't remember how I had written the tags. If I didn't know better I would say that I hadn't changed anything when the header didn't show up next time.

Every time I have changed something in the module I have tried showing and hiding the headers in MacSword, to try to show the headers.

I know MacSword can show headers, because I have seen them in the KJV module. In that module, the headers are placed at the top of every chapter.
Is it impossible to place headers in the middle of chapters?

Please help...

Simon
[Feb 12, 2009 11:12:05 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male Simon
Regular




Joined: Jan 29, 2009
Post Count: 26
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
shock Re: I can't get the headings to work properly

If I use the "level" attribute to the <title> (<title level=1>Jesus frestas</title>) I finally get the headers to show in MacSword. I can show them and hide them.
However, all text following the header turns into the same style as the header (bold), which I don't want it to. It is as if osis2mod or MacSword doesn't recognize the end </title> tag.

Does anybody know what is wrong?

Simon
[Feb 12, 2009 1:49:55 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male gichurch
Regular
Member's Avatar


Joined: Apr 24, 2004
Post Count: 46
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: I can't get the headings to work properly

Simon,

Please join the mailing list sword-devel. You will find a much larger number of developers who will be able to help you.
[Feb 12, 2009 4:12:38 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male Simon
Regular




Joined: Jan 29, 2009
Post Count: 26
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: I can't get the headings to work properly

Allright, I'll do that.
Thank you.

Simon
[Feb 15, 2009 7:18:14 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male Simon
Regular




Joined: Jan 29, 2009
Post Count: 26
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
The solution!

peace
For everyone else who encountered this problem, the solution is this.
To write a header which can be shown and hidden with sword, you write like this:

<div type="section"><title>A heading</title></div>

If you want a blank line above the header (when shown) you write like this:

<div type="section"><title><p/>A heading</title></div>

At least it works with MacSword. However, when I tried the module with the windows Sword program, the headings appeared twice.

Simon
[Feb 15, 2009 1:44:29 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread