mvnForum Homepage Welcome Guest  | Guest Setting  |  Register  |   Login
  Search  
Index  | Recent Threads  | Unanswered Threads  | Who's Online  | User List  | Help

»

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 4
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 10231 times and has 3 replies Next Thread
Male DrMeers
Stranger

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Albert Barnes' Notes on the OLD TESTAMENT?

I'm using GnomeSword on Ubuntu, and am wondering why there isn't a Barnes Notes on the Old Testament module -- only one for the New Testament? e-Sword has a free "Albert Barnes' Notes on the Bible" module which includes both OT and NT (link).

Does anyone know why the Barnes OT Commentary is not available as a SWORD module?

I'm also a software developer, and would be happy to take on this work if it is just a question of someone putting one together. I understand from the FAQ that we're discouraged from converting e-Sword (for example) modules into SWORD ones in case copyright issues are breached -- otherwise I'd have started already.

If it is possible/legal for me to make one, can anyone direct me in the correct way of going about it?
[Jun 9, 2008 5:29:26 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Male dmsmith
Regular

USA
Re: Albert Barnes' Notes on the OLD TESTAMENT?

If you can find a quality, authoritative e-text that is unencumbered with copyright or license claims, or you are able to scan one, this would be a good addition.

(By and large, if we don't have it it is because we haven't found such a source.)

If it is encumbered and you can get permission for CrossWire to distribute, that's good too.