mvnForum Homepage

Print at Dec 21, 2014 3:49:19 AM View all posts in this thread on one page
Posted by Nocturnmidnight at Sep 6, 2009 8:11:32 PM
Services/ Contextual Menu Items for MacSword 2 in Snow Leopard
Great work on the new Beta folks. It's looking awesome!!!

Has any one done anything with the new Services in Snow Leopard?
I was trying to find something to replace a contextual menu plugin that no longer exists in Snow Leopard and figured out how to create my own via Automator/Services in SL.
This is what I came up with for MacSword.

http:///www.brannonb.com/Sword.zip

They should go in "/Users/"Your Home Folder"/Library/Services"
There is one for searching text and one for searching references eg. "Exodus 1:7"

I had one for MacSword 1.4.3 but I never got the one working right for references. The integrated search box in the new Beta version made is easy to make it work.
Now I can select text any where and have it be searched in MacSword! All from the contextual menu.

Note:
It is dependent on how you have your Default Session set up. You have to have an open module upon MacSword opening.
You also have to have MacSword in you Applications folder.

You can always edit the Service in Automator.

Posted by mdbergmann at Sep 7, 2009 11:45:09 PM
Re: Services/ Contextual Menu Items for MacSword 2 in Snow Leopard
Great.
Can you give me a small description on how I can set this up?
I have put the two Automater scripts in the Services folder but they don't appear in Services menu?
What do I need to do?


Regards,
Manfred

Posted by Nocturnmidnight at Sep 8, 2009 7:59:36 AM
Re: Services/ Contextual Menu Items for MacSword 2 in Snow Leopard
This set only works with the new beta of MacSword on Snow Leopard.

This is what it looks like on my Mac. "You must have some text selected for it to show up."







You may want to try opening them with Automator. Make sure the second action points to your MacSword application.

This is what it looks like when I open the service in Automator.








If it still doesn't work, I may have been mistaken to think they would work across different machines.
If that is the case I'll post a video showing how I made them. I'm no programer, so I think anyone could do it.

Posted by mdbergmann at Sep 9, 2009 1:06:31 AM
Re: Services/ Contextual Menu Items for MacSword 2 in Snow Leopard
Hi.

Hmm, I don't have this "Services" menu item in the context menu.
I guess I have to enable Services somewhere in the System Preferences or so.

Manfred