mvnForum Homepage

Print at Aug 21, 2014 9:04:12 PM View all posts in this thread on one page
Posted by Simon at Jan 30, 2009 12:51:19 PM
Making modules
Is it difficult to make new modules for MacSword?
I have no experience of writing computer programs, but I have tried the basics of html.
Would there be any use for me trying to create a new module?

Simon

Posted by mdbergmann at Jan 30, 2009 1:20:38 PM
Re: Making modules
Hi Simon.

In out Wiki is some more information about creating modules.
http://www.crosswire.org/wiki/Main_Page

Regards,
Manfred

Posted by gichurch at Jan 31, 2009 4:22:08 AM
It depends what you want to do. Importing a badly encoded Bible text might be hard work. Creating an image/map module would be totally straight forward.

If you know HTML then you will understand many of our modules easily.

There have been a whole bunch of module ideas floating about which no one had time to implement

Peter

Posted by Simon at Feb 5, 2009 10:37:11 AM
I want to take a Bible text, which I have on my computer, and make a macsword module from it. I have started to use the OSIS Users Manual from Bible Technologies and progressing slowly.
I will write again if I get any trouble :-)

Simon

Posted by Simon at Feb 12, 2009 11:12:05 AM
confused   I can't get the headings to work properly
confused
Hello again.
I hope someone has the patience to help me.

I have started to try to code a new module, using the OSIS language and the editor jEdit.
The Bible text I am using has lots of headers (non-canonical) in the text. I want to use those headers in the module, so I checked the OSIS instructions on the wiki, and the OSIS manual from Bible Technologies.
I have tried using the <title></title> tag, but the headings doesn't show in MacSword, even after I have used "Show/hide headers" under the Format menu.
I have also tried giving the <title> tag various attributes, such as type="section", type="sub" and canonical="false". It didn't make the headers work either.