mvnForum Homepage

Print at Sep 18, 2014 8:50:48 AM View all posts in this thread on one page
Posted by rotorblades at Jan 20, 2009 10:13:40 PM
confused   Newbie - GnomeSword install on Fedora
Hi -- I'm new to Linux, using Fedora 10 and new to GnomeSword. I have successfully installed Fedora 10 and would like to install GnomeSword as my first application.

I think I've installed the SWORD API correctly and am now trying to install GnomeSword using the instructions in the compressed file. The instructions seem to say that the simplest way to compile this package is:

1. `cd' to the directory containing the package's source code and type
`./configure' to configure the package for your system.

Running `configure' might take a while. While running, it prints
some messages telling which features it is checking for.

*** i've run this and it gets most of the way through, but the last message is something to the effect, "SWORD - no", most other messages answered "yes" ***

2. Type `make' to compile the package.

*** when I run this, I get numerous errors; the remaining instructions don't work either ***

Is there anywhere I can go to get better instructions or is there someone out there who might be able to help me through this install (I'm a fairly savvy with Windows, but being that Linux is new, I have a lot to learn!).

Thanks.

Posted by ransom1982 at Jan 20, 2009 11:27:23 PM
Re: Newbie - GnomeSword install on Fedora
If configure is saying "SWORD no", then SWORD isn't installed correctly. Did you run "make install" after building SWORD?

The best place to get help for this is on IRC (#gnomesword). If you're unfamiliar with IRC, just click this link http://embed.mibbit.com/?server=irc.freenode.net&channel=%23gnomesword , enter a name for yourself, and click "click to join chatroom".

If you want to skip compiling completely, you can download the latest binaries here http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/updates/10/i386/

Matthew