mvnForum Homepage

Print at Jul 13, 2014 9:47:47 AM View all posts in this thread on one page
Posted by DrMeers at Jun 9, 2008 5:29:26 PM
Albert Barnes' Notes on the OLD TESTAMENT?
I'm using GnomeSword on Ubuntu, and am wondering why there isn't a Barnes Notes on the Old Testament module -- only one for the New Testament? e-Sword has a free "Albert Barnes' Notes on the Bible" module which includes both OT and NT (link).

Does anyone know why the Barnes OT Commentary is not available as a SWORD module?

I'm also a software developer, and would be happy to take on this work if it is just a question of someone putting one together. I understand from the FAQ that we're discouraged from converting e-Sword (for example) modules into SWORD ones in case copyright issues are breached -- otherwise I'd have started already.

If it is possible/legal for me to make one, can anyone direct me in the correct way of going about it?

Posted by dmsmith at Jun 10, 2008 8:07:02 AM
Re: Albert Barnes' Notes on the OLD TESTAMENT?
If you can find a quality, authoritative e-text that is unencumbered with copyright or license claims, or you are able to scan one, this would be a good addition.

(By and large, if we don't have it it is because we haven't found such a source.)

If it is encumbered and you can get permission for CrossWire to distribute, that's good too.

The pedigree of the e-text is important. We need to "original". Many times, an e-text is a copy of a copy of a copy..., each with potential changes. Sometimes one of these is encumbered and by implication taints the following.

If you think you have found something worthy, discuss it on the members-only mailing list sword-devel. No sense going to the extra effort if we are able to find out that we can't use it.