mvnForum Homepage

Print at Nov 26, 2014 3:19:36 AM View all posts in this thread on one page
Posted by COGClerk01 at Jul 14, 2004 7:58:31 PM
confused   Can't get Bibletime working on Fedora Core 2
Hey all,

I've been struggling with this a few days, and I really need some help. Here is the paths I've tried:

1) I thought, "The core 1 rpms may work for me (I couldn't find any core 2 rpms).". I installed them and got Bibletime to come up. However, anytime I tried to access a module, Bibletime just died. I even downloaded the new KJV module (my other modules are older), but I had the same result.

2) Okay, I'm going to build it from scratch, so I downloaded sword-1.5.7 and bibletime-1.4.1 sources and built them. I was doing this on a laptop with about 4GB of harddrive space, so I selectively added *devel* rpms until everything configured and built happily. Now, if I try to run Bibletime, to toolbar icon spins for a bit, then goes away. Bibletime never actually comes up.

Thanks in advance! smile
Dan

Posted by jansorg at Jul 15, 2004 3:07:14 AM
Re: Can't get Bibletime working on Fedora Core 2
Hi,

what does BibleTime say when you enter "bibletime" in a konsole window (e.g. ALT+F2 and enter "konsole" to get a terminal)?

Joachim

Posted by COGClerk01 at Jul 15, 2004 5:01:44 AM
Re: Can't get Bibletime working on Fedora Core 2
I just get a SEGMENTATION FAULT with no traceback. I may have compiled it without debug enabled to conserve space.

Dan

Posted by jansorg at Jul 15, 2004 9:06:02 AM
smile   Re: Can't get Bibletime working on Fedora Core 2
No other messages?

Strange, that it crashes. I thought it's stable sad
What modules are installed?
Is it an update or the first install of BibleTime?

How did you install Sword?

Posted by COGClerk01 at Jul 15, 2004 5:43:58 PM
Re: Can't get Bibletime working on Fedora Core 2
No other messages?

Strange, that it crashes. I thought it's stable sad
What modules are installed?
Is it an update or the first install of BibleTime?

How did you install Sword?


1) It's a first-time install.
2) I built and installed Sword from source.

Dan

Posted by COGClerk01 at Jul 17, 2004 11:51:22 AM
Re: Can't get Bibletime working on Fedora Core 2
Well, to bring closure to this thread, here's what I've done:

I compiled the source for Sword and BIbletime on my RedHat 9 desktop, and everything went smoothly. RedHat 9 was my "stake-in-the-ground" for my desktop and laptop, but I thought I try Fedora Core 2 on my laptop to try out a 2.6 kernel distribution. After all things considered, I'm going back to RedHat 9 on my laptop, since it suits my needs better. Thanks for your help!

Dan smile