mvnForum Homepage

Print at Dec 22, 2014 3:48:39 PM View all posts in this thread on one page
Posted by Gnarlodious at Aug 23, 2011 2:59:31 AM
How do I install modules?
Hello. I am attempting to install modules from a Firewire backup disk. This is OSX 10.7.2. I added the modules to

~/Library/Application\ Support/Sword/mods.d

however only the first one I added shows up. Later adds are not recognized by the app.

I did find a "Module installer" but it doesn't make any sense. Sorry, I am a programmer but this is possibly the most unintuitive application I have ever used. The old version was so much easier. Maybe there is some big fact I am missing to have wasted so much time?

Posted by Gnarlodious at Aug 23, 2011 3:19:44 AM
Re: How do I install modules?
Well, I don't know what I did but while trying to install modules I broke the app. All I get when launching is a crash report. I can't even launch the app to send the crash report to anywhere. This is version 2.4.1.

Posted by JonGl at Aug 23, 2011 5:41:45 AM
Hello. I am attempting to install modules from a Firewire backup disk. This is OSX 10.7.2. I added the modules to

~/Library/Application\ Support/Sword/mods.d

however only the first one I added shows up. Later adds are not recognized by the app.

I did find a "Module installer" but it doesn't make any sense. Sorry, I am a programmer but this is possibly the most unintuitive application I have ever used. The old version was so much easier. Maybe there is some big fact I am missing to have wasted so much time?

There are actually two items you need to install for every Sword module. The first is the configuration file. These files end with a .conf extension, and goes in the mods.d folder you described. All this file does is tell the Project Sword app what kind of file the module is, and where it's located. If you drop the actual modules into this folder, Eloquent won't be able to find the actual module files, because they are in the wrong location.